“Fall suggestions”

This is an elaborate dish for my standards. But in this season there are so many summer vegs to eat for the last time and so many winter vegs you can’t wait to taste again!!

I think this appetizer is perfect in this season. A perfect fall suggestion.

Let’s start with the creams:

1. Hot pumpkin. Cook a piece of pumpkin, chopped into big cubes, in oil with a garlic clove and hot pepper at pleasure. Add salt and a bit of water if needed. Then blend it very well with some tablespoons of olive oil. When cold, add a bit of chopped parsley and a bit of finely chopped garlic.

2. Aubergines and mint. Cut a aubergine in half, cover the inner parts with salt and let it rest for 1 hour. Then wash and put in a baking tray with baking paper, with the inner part downwards. This goes in the oven for about 40 minutes at 220°C. When cooked, throw away the skin and put the pulp in a strainer. Press it to remove the remaining water. Then put in a blender and add salt, olive oil, pepper, some mint leaves, a tablespoon of grated parmesan and blend it all.

3. Spinach, gorgonzola and walnuts. Wash 150 g of spinach. Cook them in a pan with oil, 1/4 chopped onion and 1/2 garlic clove. When cooked, put in the blender with gorgonzola cheese at pleasure and some walnuts (without the peel because it’s bitter), salt and a tablespoon of olive oil. Blend it all. If a bit liquid, put 2 gelatine sheets into some cold water; when soft, squeeze it and put it in the blender. Blend and put the cream in the fridge to set.

4. Curry leeks. Wash 2 leeks (or a big one) very careful because they can have mud inside. Chop them and cook in a pan with oil, salt and water if needed. When cooked, put in the blender, add some single cream and some curry powder. Put 2 gelatine sheets into some cold water; when soft, squeeze it and put it in the blender. Blend it all and put the cream in the fridge to set.

Now… ehm… the rice wafer.

My idea was to do “riso al salto”. Pressed rice roasted in a little pan, cooked like a crepe. I prepared the rice (a risotto with onion and stock) and follow the recipe but… it didn’t get pressed. And when I tried to turn it, it broke.

I got into a panic. I didn’t want to waste my organic rice, and I needed a rice support for my creams.

So I cooked again all the rice, in a bit of water, until it became quite overcooked. Then I blended it. With that paste, I made some “rice crepes” in my little pan. But there was too much water and every crepe spent 20 minutes to cook. So long and so a messy work! Don’t do it. I’m sure there are other possibilities in creating a rice support for these creams.

Then, I cut the wafers in four and the creams over them, with a pastry bag. I decorated with pomegranate grain to wish luck to everybody at dinner: to Massimo and Eleonora for their journey and stay in China, to Francesco for his exams, to Francesco my boyfriend and to me for our new jobs.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Fall Menu | SaraInCucina

Leave a Reply

