Roses Cupcakes

Yesterday I spent my spare time in the kitchen. The result are these cupcakes!

They are roses cupcakes.

My first step: make the rose syrup. I followed the recipe on this http://miarrangio.blogspot.it/2008/05/sciroppo-di-rose-preciso.html italian blog.

I picked 50 g of roses’ petal and covered them with half a liter of boiling water and 1/2 lemon. I covered the bowl. After 12 hours (but the recipe says 24) I put all the roses water (I squeezed the petals) in a pot with half a kilo of sugar. I boiled for 25 minutes. Then I filled 2 little bottes with the hot syrup (it’s a good present, isn’t it?). 

And I started to make the cupcakes.

I used a classic recipe, and I added the rose syrup.

– 100 g of butter

– 100 g of flour

– 60 g of sugar

– 2 eggs

– 1/2 sachet of baking powder

– grated zest of 1/4 lemon

– 4 tablespoons of rose syrup

Preheat the oven to 170° C and place the paper cases into the muffin tin. (I had only coloured paper cases, and it was weird for me to put them in the oven, so I covered the muffins moulds with butter and flour).

With an electric whisk beat the butter, add the sugar, the rose syrup and the lemon zest. Whisk well. Add the eggs one at a time, beating each one in well before adding the next. Carefully fold in the flour and the baking powder. Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes. When cooked, lift them from the muffin moulds and let them cool down.

To make the icing I used:

– 75 g of butter

– 150 g of icing sugar (I blend the normal sugar at home)

– a little bit of grated lemon zest

– 4 tablespoons of rose syrup

– 2 teaspoons lemon juice

Using an electric whisk or a blender, beat the butter until very soft. Gradually add the icing sugar, the lemon zest, the syrup and the lemon juice.

When the cakes are cool, put the icing cream over them (I used a pastry bag). Put some drops of rose syrup over the cream, and an iced rose (see previous recipe).

These are my first cupcakes. I’m so proud, and my mother loved it!

What do you think, I passed the proof?

6 Comments

  1. Sara – love the rose syrup idea – the roses are just coming into bloom so when I return from holiday in Spain on 16th June I will make some. Have horrible black spot and yellow leaves on one of my roses – help!

Leave a Reply

